Inward Narrow Crooked Lanes

by B Minus Seven.

Before we begin, we have a sharp– I mean short intake form for you to fill out.

I really liked the blurb. It has that snarky, dystopian (!) feel to it. The game itself, though, didn’t quite meet my expectations.

[SPOILERS BELOW]

The intake form doesn’t even start off normal – it’s garbled through and through, and finishing it takes you to a room. Rooms, as it turns out. What happens in them… also doesn’t make much sense. Playing it, I got the persistent feeling that I was missing something somewhere. Should I be understanding this? Is there some textual hint? Read the first letters of each word or something? Apparently not. This made the game vaguely unsatisfying, like an itch your arms are too short to scratch. In short, interesting premise, I guess, but either badly executed or just not for me.

There are also some bugs – I keep getting Twine code in the second room and when I went to restart, I got this:

Sorry to interrupt, but this story’s code has got itself in a mess (TypeError: this.pushState is not a function). You may be able to continue playing, but parts of the story may not work properly.

Leave a Reply

